Home for the Holidays

I haven’t been home for the holidays since 2016, because I moved to Indiana in 2017. I finally made it home this year for Christmas, and I must say things are a bit different. The little town of Jacksonville, NC that I grew up in has changed drastically. There are so many more businesses in the area, that has provided more job opportunities.

After living in the Midwest for two years now, I’m not used to the down South weather anymore. I checked the weather prior to me leaving, and it said that it would be in the mid 40’s. I packed some light sweaters and boots, because you know it’s Fall/Winter. I get here, and I haven’t been able to wear anything that I packed due to the significant weather change. The weather has been around 60-70 degrees all week.

Living so far away from family, I don’t get many visitors and I don’t have many family/friends near. I spend most of the year alone! I loved being home with my family, but I’m not gonna act like I don’t miss my home in the Midwest. I really do, mainly because I can’t take this heat. Living in the South is a culture of it’s own, and I missed the Southern hospitality. Every time I left the house, I ran into someone I knew or someone my parents knew. I loved seeing everyone so friendly, and welcoming.

When I’m home walking in the parking lot of any store, people don’t speak to you. When I walked into the store here, people don’t hesitate to speak to you know matter what you look like. I know that racism is a big issue in the South due to slavery, but racism is REAL in the Midwest. That’s the first time I actually encountered it, I’m glad it wasn’t in the South.

I had a list of people that I wanted to visit while I was here, and there was a couple of people that I missed due to them being with their families. Spending time with your family during the holidays is more important than the gifts. I’ve heard that Christmas is the most depressing time of the year! Some people don’t have family anymore to spend time with, some people are too far away to visit, and some people just can’t be around their family due to unresolved issues.

We never realize how much we miss or need our family until they’re gone. I encourage everyone to mend the issues that are holding you back from connecting with your family. I say that because at the end of the day, your family is all you have. Don’t let another day go by and your family not know how you feel about them or a certain situation. Don’t wake up tomorrow, and then it’s too late.

I enjoyed my time at home with my family! I’ve eaten at Bojangles twice, because Ohio doesn’t have them. I haven’t eaten at Smithfield’s yet, but I know I’ll make it there before I leave. I got me some smoked sausage, and my Grandma made me some collards to take back home for New Years. We went to Burgaw so that I can get me some liver pudding. I drove down Western Blvd to see all the new businesses. My ” Home for the Holidays” trip was a complete success.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started